Snoqualmie Depot



The Snoqualmie Depot was built in 1890 for the Seattle Lake Shore and Eastern Railway by the firm of Anderson and Scott. Constructed predominantly of wood, the structure models the late Queen Anne architectural style popular in the 1890s.

The Depot is the oldest continuously operated train station in the State of Washington and served the Seattle, Lake Shore and Eastern from construction until reorganization in 1896 when the railroad name changed to Seattle and International. In 1901, that railroad was absorbed into the Northern Pacific Railway who continued to operate the depot until merged into the Burlington Northern in 1970. Burlington Northern donated the depot to the Northwest Railway Museum in January 1977.

The Snoqualmie Depot is in some ways unique; in other ways common. Certainly the design is unique and noteworthy for its grandure. For instance, compare the overall style and appearance with the Issaquah Depot. Yet functions performed by the Snoqualmie Depot were commonplace. The Snoqualmie Depot handled passengers, mail, express, freight, and housed a telephraph office. Even Seattle newspapers were delivered by train. So in Snoqualmie as in hundreds of western communities, the depot was the center of transportation and communications, and was an important feature in early town life.